Schools’ Physicist of the Year 2017

David Binns being presented with his prize by Ogden professor of fundamental physics Carlos Frenk.

A prestigious award for an outstanding contribution to Physics has been presented to Prior Pursglove College student David Binns.

David, who received the Schools Physicist of the Year award by The Ogden Trust, was chosen because of his passion for Physics.

The Ogden Trust, founded in 1999, aims to encourage the teaching and learning of Science and, particularly, Physics, across the country. The ‘Schools Physicist of the Year’ accolade is offered each year by the Trust to top-performing students.

David was nominated by Prior Pursglove College’s Physics teacher, Ian Robinson. In the nomination Ian said: “David is a keen, enthusiastic and very capable physics student. He displays a genuine delight in problem solving and is frequently seen pulling his latest extra-curricular reading from his bag. As I write this reference in lesson, David is at the back of the lab pointedly playing with beakers of water to help visualise a physics Olympiad question rather than working through past papers as I instructed.

“David is intending to read Physics post college and I feel has a bright future ahead of him.”